Call For A Free Consultation - (425) 276-7390

DC Nguyen Law


What Is A DUI Charge In Washington State?

In Washington state, a DUI may be the result of impairment when under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Additionally, you could be charged with BUI, which is boating under the influence and it’s very similar to a DUI. You may be subject to a DUI if you are on bicycles, motorcycles, or electric scooters. The legal blood alcohol concentration is 0.08.

What Happens If I Get Pulled Over For A DUI In Washington State? Walk Me Through The Process.

Typically, you are charged with a DUI as a result of being pulled over by the police. The police may pull you over if they suspect you are driving under the influence. That may be evident by veering in/out of your lane, failing to use your turn signal, lights being out, speeding, driving too slow, or something out of the ordinary with your driving. Once stopped, the police officer will look for the indicators of a DUI. Are you slurring your speech, not standing straight, your eyes are red, you smell like alcohol, or are confused? These are the tell-tale signs that could lead to a DUI charge.

The police officer can request a field sobriety test, but you are allowed to decline to participate. However, once you get to the station, a refusal can lead to a DUI Refusal charge. If you are determined to be under the influence, you will be arrested, read your rights, and transported to jail. If someone is not able to pick up your car or passengers you are with are not safe to drive the car home, it will be towed at your expense.

Will I Lose My Driver’s License Immediately After A DUI Arrest In Washington State?

You will not lose your license immediately, but there is a high likelihood your license will be suspended. When you are charged with a DUI, it triggers a notice to the Department of Licensing (DOL). The DOL will notify you as to the duration your license will be suspended.

After you receive this notice, you need to respond within 15 days and pay a $375 fee to request a hearing. We do not recommend participating in DOL hearings because they are only looking for information on if you were driving, were you in King county or Washington state, and were you under the influence. In our experience, 95% of hearings result in you being found to have violated one or more of the factors the DOL considers.

If you are convicted of a DUI, your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. If it’s found to be reckless driving, it would be 30 days. If you are found to be negligent while driving, there is no suspension associated with that verdict.

For more information on DUI Charges In The State Of Washington, an initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (425) 276-7390 today.

More Information

DC Nguyen Law

Call For A Free Consultation
(425) 276-7390

Accessibility Accessibility
× Accessibility Menu CTRL+U